The Frances Poleschuk Award

Council Of Associated Primary Educators Honor Shirley Silva and Caroline Thornton
On Friday April 11, 2014, The Council of Associated Primary Educators presented Shirley Silva and Caroline Thornton (St. Monica School; MBC Family) with the Frances Poleschuk award as an exemplary educator team.
This award (first initiated in 1989) is presented to educators who have made exemplary contributions to practice in primary education in Ontario.
Shirley Silva and Caroline Thornton have been leaders as co-educators since the beginning of FDK, year one at St. Mary, then continuing their journey at St. Monica. We are so proud of them for their co-educator approach, their research, sharing of best practices, their initiative, continued learning, support and leadership in primary education.
They have been instrumental with many inquiries within our board and across boards. Their openness and willingness to invite educators into their rooms, meeting with educators after school, their presentations at summer institutes and after school sessions is highly commendable. Their flexibility and availability is a best practice to be shared.
Their website is also outstanding,
This award is an outstanding honor. The Council Of Associated Primary Educators holds this award close to their heart. Please join me in congratulating Shirley and Caroline for their pioneering growth mindset and inquiry work while working through the entire Play-Based Inquiry Learning philosophy.
BRAVO—so proud and so well deserved! CONGRATULATIONS!